Policies to improve Mauritius’ ties with West Africa - CNBC Africa

Policies to improve Mauritius’ ties with West Africa

Western Africa

by admin 0

“Mauritius has signed double tax avoidance agreements with about 19 African countries. Likewise we have got some investment protection agreements and we are trying to improve on that,” Azad Dhomun, Mauritius' roving ambassador for Africa told CNBC Africa.

According to Invest Mauritius, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Senegal, Zimbabwe and Uganda are just some of the African countries that currently have Double Taxation Avoidance Treaties (DTA) with Mauritius.

Treaties with South Africa and Rwanda have been renegotiated and signed, and are awaiting ratification, and DTAs with the Republic of Congo, Zambia, Kenya, Gabon and Nigeria are awaiting ratification.

While Mauritius is making efforts to increase its trade links with Africa, the Board of Investment in Mauritius is also looking to improve its trade with West Africa.  

“Two areas where Mauritius can definitely be of help and assistance to our Nigerian brothers – the sugar industry where the expertise of a Mauritian can be of use here, the textiles we’re exporting,” Dhomun explained.   

“With West Africa at this point in time, it’s not that much but the long journey always starts with a first step.” 

Dhomun insists that the island nation is a good platform for trade-related investment and believes that freedom of movement between Mauritius and Africa is key to improving trade relations.

“Recently the prime minister of Mauritius decided to abolish visa restrictions. Abolishing of visa restrictions means anybody holding an African passport can come into Mauritius – that is as far as mobility of people are concerned,” he said.