East Africa’s tourism: Is the joint regional marketing in trouble?

PUBLISHED: Wed, 12 Sep 2018 10:08:05 GMT


In 2014, three East African community member states – Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya launched the single tourists’ visa allowing tourists visiting the three EAC states to do so using a single visa after harmonizing the fees for the important document. The EAC also agreed to market the region as a single tourism destination, four years down the line, is the region still committed to this course or each EAC member’s state is working on their own? Carmen Nibigira, former regional Coordinator of the East Africa Tourism Platform shares insights and best investment models for the tourism sector in the region.


Get the best of CNBC Africa sent straight to your inbox with breaking business news, insights and updates from experts across the continent. Sign up here.