ECOWAS to launch regional currency, ECO in 2020

PUBLISHED: Mon, 01 Jul 2019 12:26:37 GMT


The launch of the operational phase of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA) is expected later this week, while the 15 ECOWAS countries, adopted ‘ECO’ as the name of the region’s planned shared currency, and agreed for a flexible currency regime towards improving integration and trade in the region. Tilewa Adebajo, CEO of CFG Advisory joins CNBC Africa for more….

Get the best of CNBC Africa sent straight to your inbox with breaking business news, insights and updates from experts across the continent. Sign up here.