Ireland to impose mandatory quarantine on Austria, UAE arrivals

PUBLISHED: Thu, 11 Feb 2021 09:17:56 GMT

DUBLIN, Feb 11 (Reuters) – Travellers arriving to Ireland from Austria, the United Arab Emirates and sub-Saharan African countries are to be subject to a 14-day mandatory quarantine, Irish Prime Minister Micheal Martin said.

A total of 20 countries will join Brazil and South Africa on a list subject to travel restrictions due to the presence of variants of the coronavirus, Martin told Newstalk Radio.

Arrivals from the countries will be allowed to quarantine at any address until a system of mandatory hotel quarantines is introduced in the coming weeks, the government has said. (Reporting by Conor Humphries; Editing by Alison Williams)

(c) Copyright Thomson Reuters 2021. Click For Restrictions –

Sign Up for Our Newsletter Daily Update

Get the best of CNBC Africa sent straight to your inbox with breaking business news, insights and updates from experts across the continent.
Get this delivered to your inbox, and more info about about our products and services. By signing up for newsletters, you are agreeing to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.