World Economic Forum recognises 19 Africans


The Forum announced that the 214 exceptional young individuals have been recognised for their achievements and contribution to society.

The Young Global Leaders (YGLs) come from diverse backgrounds and bring a range of expertise to the community from across the world. Over 50 per cent of the new intake are women, half come from the private sector and half from the public sector, including academia, arts and culture, civil society, government, media and not-for-profit organizations.

“The YGL Community assembles the world’s most outstanding next-generation leaders who have a proven record of extraordinary achievement and helps them further develop in their leadership journey,” said David Aikman, Managing Director and Head of New Champions at the World Economic Forum.


“The community provides its members with a peer network that challenges them to not only do more, but to be more. Being part of the YGL Community is a transformational experience, where leaders turn their personal success into global significance and positive impact in their countries, industries and areas of expertise,” he said.

The YGL Class of 2014 includes 49 individuals from East Asia, 46 from Europe, 16 from Latin America and the Carribean, 18 from the Middle East and North Africa, 49 from North America, 17 from South Asia and 19 from sub-Saharan Africa.

Thirteen African YGLs have the chance to benefit from the Dangote Fellowship, created in collaboration with Aliko Dangote, President and Chief Executive Officer, Dangote Group.

The aim is to increase the quality and quantity of young African leaders across the continent by supporting the engagement of African YGLs in the community, such as those from small enterprises or the non-business sector.

The Fellowship helps YGLs from Africa attend YGL and World Economic Forum events and funds the organization of an YGL Africa Education Module.

The list includes Charlize Theron, Marlon Parker, Anton Du Plessis and Hanli Prinsloo from South Africa, Bernice Dapaah from Ghana, Michael Macharia and Sara Menker from Kenya, Danladi Verheijen from Nigeria, Angellah Jasmine Kairuki and Luca Neghesti from Tanzania and Vincent W. Bagiire from Uganda.