REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/ 10 a.m. ET

| Thu, 14 Oct 2021 14:02:17 GMT

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/ 10 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

SOCCER-ENGLAND/PREVIEW

Soccer-Saudi era begins at Newcastle with Spurs visit

Newcastle United begin their new era under Saudi ownership when they face Tottenham Hotspur at St James’ Park with Steve Bruce set for his 1000th game as a manager and possibly his last with the North East club.

TENNIS-NADAL/

Injury-hit Nadal still unclear when he’ll play again

Rafa Nadal said he still does not know when he will play tennis again as he works to complete his recovery from a recurring foot injury that cut short his 2021 season.

CYCLING-FRANCE/FAN-TRIAL

Prosecutors call for suspended sentence for fan who caused Tour de France crash

Prosecutors in the trial of a roadside spectator who caused a massive pile-up during the first stage of the Tour de France in June called on Thursday for a four-month suspended jail sentence, a lawyer for the riders’ union said.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-COL-ECU/REPORT

Soccer – FIFA World Cup – South American Qualifiers – Colombia v Ecuador

Colombia face Ecuador in the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.Details of this match will be included in the match report from Argentina v Peru

14 Oct 17:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ARG-PER/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer – FIFA World Cup – South American Qualifiers – Argentina v Peru

Argentina face Peru in the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers. This report will include details of the Colombia v Ecuador and Bolivia v Paraguay games.

14 Oct 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BRA-URY/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer – FIFA World Cup – South American Qualifiers – Brazil v Uruguay

Brazil face Uruguay in the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers. This report will include details of Chile v Venezuela.

14 Oct 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-MIL-HEL/PREVIEW

Soccer – Italy – AC Milan news conference

AC Milan coach Stefano Pioli holds a news conference ahead of his team’s Serie A match against Hellas Verona.

15 Oct

SOCCER-ITALY-LAZ-INT/PREVIEW

Soccer – Italy – Inter Milan news conference

Inter Milan coach Simone Inzaghi holds a news conference ahead of his team’s Serie A match against Lazio.

15 Oct

SOCCER-ENGLAND-LEI-MUN/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer – England – Premier League – Manchester United news conference

Manchester United’s Ole Gunnar Solskjaer speaks to the media ahead of his side’s Premier League match against Leicester City.

15 Oct 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-WAT-LIV/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer – England – Premier League – Liverpool news conference

Liverpool’s Juergen Klopp holds a news conference ahead of his team’s Premier League match against Watford.

15 Oct 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-BUR/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer – England – Premier League – Manchester City news conference

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola speaks to the media ahead of his side’s Premier League match against Burnley.

15 Oct 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-NEW-TOT/PREVIEW

Soccer – England – Premier League – Tottenham Hotspur news conference

Tottenham Hotspur’s Nuno Espirito Santo speaks to the media ahead of his side’s Premier League match against Newcastle United.

15 Oct 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-BRE-CHE/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer – England – Premier League – Chelsea news conference

Chelsea’s Thomas Tuchel holds a news conference ahead of his team’s Premier League match against Brentford.

15 Oct 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

ICEHOCKEY

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CAR-NYI/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Carolina Hurricanes v New York Islanders

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – PNC Arena, Raleigh, North Carolina

14 Oct 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-FLA-PIT/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Florida Panthers v Pittsburgh Penguins

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – FLA Live Arena, Sunrise, Florida

14 Oct 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NYR-DAL/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – New York Rangers v Dallas Stars

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – Madison Square Garden, New York, New York

14 Oct 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-OTT-TOR/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Ottawa Senators v Toronto Maple Leafs

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – Canadian Tire Centre, Kanata, Ontario

14 Oct 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-BUF-MTL/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Buffalo Sabres v Montreal Canadiens

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – KeyBank Center, Buffalo, New York

14 Oct 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CBJ-ARI/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Columbus Blue Jackets v Arizona Coyotes

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – Nationwide Arena, Columbus, Ohio

14 Oct 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-DET-TBL/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Detroit Red Wings v Tampa Bay Lightning

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – Little Caesars Arena, Detroit, Michigan

14 Oct 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NSH-SEA/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Nashville Predators v Seattle Kraken

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – Bridgestone Arena, Nashville, Tennessee

15 Oct 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-LAK-VGK/ (PIX)

Hockey – NHL – Los Angeles Kings v Vegas Golden Knights

2021-22 NHL Season (Regular Season) – Staples Center, Los Angeles, California

15 Oct 22:30 ET / 02:30 GMT

FOOTBALL

FOOTBALL-NFL-PHI-TB/ (PIX)

Football – NFL – Philadelphia Eagles v Tampa Bay Buccaneers

2021-2022 NFL Season (Regular Season) – Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

15 Oct 20:20 ET / 00:20 GMT

BASEBALL

BASEBALL-MLB-SF-LAD/ (PIX)

Baseball – MLB – San Francisco Giants v Los Angeles Dodgers

2021 MLB Season (Postseason) – Oracle Park, San Francisco, California

15 Oct 21:07 ET / 01:07 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-IPL/

Cricket-Indian Premier League (IPL)

Dubai hosts the final of this year’s Indian Premier League.

15 Oct

CRICKET-T20WORLDCUP-PNG/

Cricket-Papua New Guinea’s leap of faith lands World Cup debut

Faith has played an important role in the development of cricket in Papua New Guinea and on Sunday it will be repaid when the ‘Barramundis’ make their Twenty20 World Cup debut against Oman in Al Amerat.

15 Oct 01:00 ET / 05:00 GMT

(c) Copyright Thomson Reuters 2021. Click For Restrictions – https://agency.reuters.com/en/copyright.html