Côte d'Ivoire President names new government

PUBLISHED: Wed, 11 Jan 2017 15:26:28 GMT

ABIDJAN (Reuters) – Ivory Coast President Alassane Ouattara named a new, slightly smaller government on Wednesday, though there were few changes to major positions, according to a statement read on state-owned television.

The finance, budget and agricultural ministers held onto their jobs but Thierry Tanoh, the former head of pan-African Ecobank, replaced Adama Toungara as energy minister. Trade minister Jean-Louis Billon also lost his post.

Despite a two-day mutiny at the weekend that led to the dismissal of the heads of the army, police and gendarmes, the ministers of defence and the interior both kept their jobs.

The cabinet was reduced to 28 ministers from 35 in the previous government and includes seven new members.

Ouattara named Amadou Gon Coulibaly, a close adviser and senior figure in his RDR party, as prime minister on Tuesday.

 (Reporting by Joe Bavier and Loucoumane Coulibaly; Editing by Louise Ireland)

Sign Up for Our Newsletter Daily Update
Get the best of CNBC Africa sent straight to your inbox with breaking business news, insights and updates from experts across the continent.
Get this delivered to your inbox, and more info about about our products and services. By signing up for newsletters, you are agreeing to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.